Follow @A1000Cranes Follow @A1000Cranes

Spring tour of The Little Mochi Man

The Little Mochi Man written and directed by Vicky Ireland. Design by Mila Saunders. Music and Animation by Julian Butler. Performed by Haruka Kuroda and Natsumi Kuroda.

For children aged 4-7, their family and friends. Click on links for tickets and information.

3rd Feb             Half Moon Theatre, Limehouse           halfmoon.org.uk

4th Feb             artsdepot, North Finchley                    artsdepot.co.uk

9-11th Feb       the egg, Theatre Royal, Bath                theatreroyal.org.uk

17th Feb           Lincoln Japan Festival, Lincoln            japanfestival.co.uk

18th Feb           Birdhouse, Grimsby                              birdhousetheatre.co.uk

24th Feb           Birmingham Hippodrome                     birminghamhippodrome.com

3rd March        Nuffield Southampton Theatres Campus   nstheatres.co.uk

4th March        Greenwich Theatre, Greenwich                  greenwichtheatre.org.uk

10th March      The Cockpit, Marylebone                            thecockpit.org.uk

11th March      Cambridge Junction, Cambridge                junction.co.uk

17th March      The Courtyard, Hereford                              courtyard.org.uk

23-25th March Polka Theatre, Wimbledon                          polkatheatre.com

12th May          Stratford Circus Arts Centre, Stratford        stratford-circus.com

20th May          The Civic, Barnsley                                      barnsleycivic.co.uk

23-27th May    Little Angel Theatre, Islington                        littleangeltheatre.com

30th May          Salisbury Playhouse, Salisbury                     salisburyplayhouse.com

 

“A little cooked rice ball, Mochi Man, despite being the very last scrap in the pan, runs away to seek his fortune, in the country of Japan!”

It’s almost New Year and little Mochi Man, tired of being bullied because of his small size, decides to run away.

Join him on his adventures as he travels from the snowy mountains of Hokkaido, to the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, meeting many wondrous creatures and characters along the way, including The Gingerbread Man and a very fast bullet train!

What dangers lurk around the corner? Will he make friends, and will he make it back home in time for the celebrations?

Mixing modern with traditional Japanese forms of story-telling and inspired by the traditions of Shogatsu (Japanese New Year celebrations) A Thousand Cranes brings a brand new piece of inventive theatre for young audiences; thought-provoking, funny and just a bit different.

With ‘origami’ puppets, animation and specially composed music, this is the perfect introduction to Japan for young children.